We use cookies to optimize our website. If you continue using this website, you automatically agree to the use of cookies. More informationOK

+49 621 33996-0
  • DE
  • EN
  • ASi 5- The latest innovation stage of AS-Interface

    ASi-5 is the latest innovation stage of the well-proven AS-Interface (ASi) standard. The main reason for evolving ASi was the fact that increasing digitalization brings with it ever greater volumes of data. ASi-5 has both great data bandwidth and short cycle times. This makes it possible to transport larger volumes of data, without restrictions, to where it can yield valuable information.

    Great data bandwidth, short cycle times
    Compatible with all ASi generations
    Easy integration from IO-Link sensors

    ASi advantages

    ASi-5 offers you all the advantages that have already made ASi so special in the past. For example, power and data are still transmitted over a single cable, you have free choice of your topology and the safety technology is still on the same infrastructure.

    Quickly transmit large data volumes

    The main advantage of ASi-5 is that you can now transmit larger data volumes significantly faster. Thanks to its great data bandwidth and short cycle times, AS-Interface opens up a lot of new possibilities. For example, transmitting analogue values is considerably quicker with ASi-5. In addition, you can easily integrate smart IO-Link sensors with up to 32 bytes.

    ASi-5 enables your smooth path into the digital future

    Increasing digitalization and Industry 4.0 require a good data layer. Therefore, smart sensors become more and more important as suppliers of additional data. ASi-5 enables your smooth path into the digital future. With the new AS-Interface generation, you can transport ever greater data volumes to where they can yield valuable information. Using an integrated OPC UA server in ASi-5 / ASi-3 gateways, you can even do this directly and in parallel with the communication with the fieldbus.

    Cost-efficiently collect inputs and outputs

    ASi-5’s increased power offers another advantage: Using ASi-5 modules enables the cost-efficient and fast collection of numerous inputs and outputs in one place. Compared to other fieldbus solutions, ASi-5 modules are an affordable alternative.

    More about AS-Interface

     

    ASi-5 is compatible with earlier ASi generations

    ASi-5 is fully compatible with all earlier certified ASi products. Therefore, you can use new ASi-5 slaves together with ASi slaves of any previous generation – in existing as well as in new ASi networks because all ASi generations work in parallel on the same cable.

    If you already use ASi, you can easily add ASi-5 slaves – and continue to use your existing ASi slaves. New ASi-5 slaves are particularly suited for use in system sections with additional demands on data volume, transmission speed or I/O density.

    The only prerequisite to using ASi-5 slaves: you need an ASi-5 / ASi-3 gateway. Without ASi-5 slaves, the new ASi-5 / ASi-3 gateways work exactly as earlier ASi-3 gateways because the ASi-3 part remains unchanged. Using new ASi-5 / ASi-3 gateways, you can easily replace your existing gateways.

    More about ASi-5 products

     

    ASi-5 has all the well-proven strengths of ASi

    • Transmit data and power in a single two-core flat cable
    • Freely choose your topology without costly switches (tree, ring, star, line)
    • Cost-efficiently integrate safety on the same infrastructure
    • Easily install and expand your system using ASi piercing technology
    • Certified products for manufacturer-independent compatibility
    • Affordable noise-resistant system that does not require shielding

     

     

    ...and ASi-5 offers you many additional advantages

    • 1.27ms cycle time for up to 384 input and 384 output bits
    • 16-bit I/O data and profiles with up to 32 bytes of process data per slave
    • Easily integrate smart IO-Link sensors
    • ASi-5 is compatible with all earlier ASi generations for combined use of different ASi slaves
    • ASi safety and ASi-5 easily work together
    • Highly economical because of reduced costs per input / output
    • Advanced diagnostics for predictive maintenance

    ASi network with ASi-5 and ASi-3 products

    (Click to enlarge)

    ASi-5 Q&As

    How compatible is ASi-5 with earlier ASi generations?

    ASi-5 is fully compatible with all earlier certified ASi products. Therefore, you easily combine ASi-5 slaves with ASi slaves of any other generation. Simply add ASi-5 slaves to existing ASi networks and continue to use existing ASi-3 slaves. All you need for ASi-5 slaves is an ASi-5/ASi-3 gateway. In a gateway, the ASi-3 part remains unchanged.  Existing gateways are simply replaced by an ASi-5 / ASi-3 gateway.

    Why is ASi 5 the direct successor of ASi-3?

    Basically, there are two reasons why there is no ASi-4. On the one hand, it illustrates that the development step from ASi-3 to ASi-5 is really big. On the other hand, it eliminates a potential similarity of names with Industry 4.0. While Industry 4.0 is an important innovation driver for the new ASi generation, it is not the only one.

    Where is the use of ASi-5 particularly beneficial?

    ASi-5 is particularly suited for applications with high transmission speeds or high data volumes. ASi-5 digital modules also allow you to cost-efficiently collect a greater number of inputs and outputs in one place. This makes ASi-5 digital modules an affordable alternative to other fieldbus solutions. In addition, ASi-5 makes it easier than ever to integrate smart sensors, e.g., IO-Link sensors with up to 32 bytes.

    Are ASi-5 components from different manufacturers compatible?

    Yes. ASi-5 continues to ensure unrestricted interoperability. All certified products with an ASi logo can easily be used together in a common network. It does not make any difference who manufactured the products.

    Is ASi-5 also a joint development?

    Yes. Like all earlier ASi generations, ASi-5 is a joint development of several manufacturers of ASi products. In over 200,000 developer hours, the new innovation stage of AS-Interface evolved into a mature technology. ASi-5 protects investments and provides companies with a smooth path into the digital future.

    ASi-5 – The latest innovation stage of AS-Interface

    ASi-5 is the latest innovation stage of the well-proven AS-Interface (ASi) standard. The main reason for evolving ASi was the fact that increasing digitalization brings with it ever greater volumes of data. ASi-5 has both great data bandwidth and short cycle times. This makes it possible to transport larger volumes of data, without restrictions, to where it can yield valuable information.

    You too can profit from an AS-Interface solution!

    Simple

    to install, configure, operate and expand

    Efficient

    it’s rugged, noise immune, diagnostics-friendly and cost-effective

    Innovative

    just one cable is used for data and power, can be configured to any topology, highly compatible

    Contact us

    Bihl+Wiedemann GmbH
    Flosswoerthstrasse 41
    68199 Mannheim
    Germany

    +49 621 33996-0
    mail@bihl-wiedemann.de
    www.bihl-wiedemann.de

Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Website für Sie zu optimieren. Wenn Sie die Website weiter nutzen, stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere InformationenOK

+49 621 33996-0
  • DE
  • EN
  • ASi-5 – Die neue Innovationsstufe von AS-Interface

    ASi-5 ist die neueste Innovationsstufe des bewährten Standards AS-Interface (ASi). Weiterentwickelt wurde ASi vor allem, weil im Zuge der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung immer größere Datenmengen anfallen. ASi-5 besitzt sowohl eine hohe Datenbreite als auch kurze Zykluszeiten. Dadurch ist es möglich, auch größere Menge an Daten ohne Einschränkung dorthin zu transportieren, wo aus ihnen wertvolle Informationen gewonnen werden.

    Hohe Datenbreite,
    kurze Zykluszeit
    Kompatibel mit allen
    ASi Generationen
    Einfache Integration
    von IO-Link Sensoren

    Bewährte ASi Vorteile bleiben erhalten

    ASi-5 bietet Ihnen sämtliche Vorteile, die ASi bereits in der Vergangenheit ausgezeichnet haben. Energie und Daten werden zum Beispiel weiterhin über ein einziges Kabel übertragen, die Topologie bleibt frei wählbar und die Sicherheitstechnik befindet sich nach wie vor auf derselben Infrastruktur.

    Große Datenmengen schnell übertragbar

    ASi-5 hat vor allem einen Vorteil: Größere Datenmengen lassen sich jetzt deutlich schneller übertragen. Durch die hohe Datenbreite und kurze Zykluszeiten bietet Ihnen AS-Interface nun viele neue Möglichkeiten. Die Übertragung analoger Werte ist mit ASi-5 beispielsweise erheblich beschleunigt. Des Weiteren können Sie intelligente IO-Link Sensoren mit bis zu 32 Byte spielend leicht integrieren.

    ASi-5 ebnet Ihren Weg in die digitale Zukunft

    Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 erfordern eine gute Datenbasis. Intelligente Sensoren werden als Datenlieferanten deshalb immer wichtiger. ASi-5 ebnet Ihnen den Weg in die digitale Zukunft. Denn mit der neuen Generation von AS-können Sie die immer weiter wachsenden Datenmengen dorthin transportieren, wo Sie aus ihnen wertvolle Informationen gewinnen können. Über einen integrierten OPC UA Server in ASi-5 / ASi-3 Gateways ist dies sogar ohne Umwege parallel zur Kommunikation mit dem Feldbus möglich.

    Ein- und Ausgänge kosteneffizient einsammeln

    Die erweiterte Leistungsstärke von ASi-5 bietet einen zusätzlichen Vorteil: Mit ASi-5 Modulen können viele Ein- und Ausgänge jetzt kosteneffizient und schnell an einem Ort eingesammelt werden. Im Vergleich zu anderen Feldbus-Lösungen sind ASi-5 Module somit eine kostengünstige Alternative.

    Mehr über AS-Interface

     

    ASi-5 ist kompatibel mit bisherigen ASi Generationen

    ASi-5 ist voll kompatibel mit allen bisherigen, zertifizierten ASi Produkten. Dadurch können Sie neue ASi-5 Slaves gemeinsam mit ASi Slaves aller Generationen nutzen – in neuen und bestehenden ASi Netzwerken. Denn sämtliche ASi Generationen arbeiten parallel auf derselben Leitung.

    Wenn Sie bereits ASi einsetzen, können Sie ASi-5 Slaves problemlos zusätzlich anschließen – und Ihre vorhandenen ASi Slaves weiter verwenden. Neue ASi-5 Slaves eignen sich besonders für den Einsatz in Anlagenbereichen mit erhöhten Anforderungen an die Datenmenge, die Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit oder die E/A-Dichte.

    Einzige Vorrausetzung zur Nutzung von ASi-5 Slaves: Sie benötigen Sie ein ASi-5 / ASi-3 Gateway. Ohne ASi-5 Slaves arbeiten die neuen ASi-5 / ASi-3 Gateways genauso wie die bisherigen ASi-3 Gateways. Denn der ASi-3 Teil ist unverändert. Mit neuen ASi-5 / ASi-3 Gateways können Sie Ihre vorhandenen Gateways einfach ersetzen.

    Mehr über ASi-5 Produkte

     

    ASi-5 besitzt alle bewährten Stärken von ASi

    • Übertragung von Daten und Energie auf einem einzigen zweiadrigen Profilkabel
    • Topologie frei wählbar ohne teure Switches (Baum, Ring, Stern, Linie)
    • Kosteneffiziente Integration von Safety auf derselben Infrastruktur
    • Einfache Installation und Erweiterbarkeit durch ASi Piercing-Technologie
    • Herstellerunabhängige Kompatibilität durch zertifizierte Produkte
    • Günstiges EMV-resistentes System ohne zusätzliche Schirmung

     

     

    …und ASi-5 bietet Ihnen viele weitere Vorteile

    • 1,27 ms Zykluszeit für bis zu 384 Ein- und 384 Ausgangsbits
    • 16 Bit E/A Daten und Profile mit bis zu 32 Byte Prozessdaten pro Slave
    • Einfache Integration von intelligenten IO-Link Sensoren
    • Kompatibilität von ASi-5 mit allen bisherigen ASi Generationen ermöglicht die gemeinsame Nutzung verschiedener ASi Slaves
    • ASi Safety und ASi-5 arbeiten problemlos zusammen
    • Hohe Wirtschaftlichkeit durch reduzierte Kosten pro Ein-/Ausgang
    • Vorausschauende Wartung (Predictive Maintenance) durch erweiterte Diagnosemöglichkeiten

    ASi Netzwerk mit ASi-5 und ASi-3 Produkten

    (Klick zum Vergrößern)

    FAQs rund um ASi-5

     

    Wie kompatibel ist ASi-5 mit bisherigen ASi Generationen?

    ASi-5 ist mit allen bisherigen, zertifizierten ASi Produkten voll kompatibel. Es ist also problemlos möglich, ASi-5 Slaves zusammen mit ASi Slaves aller Generation zu nutzen. Man kann ASi-5 Slaves in bestehenden ASi Netzwerken einfach zusätzlich anschließen und vorhandene ASi Slaves weiter verwenden. Das einzige was man benötigt, um ASi-5 Slaves nutzen zu können, ist ein ASi-5/ASi-3 Gateway. Bei einem solchen Gateway ist der ASi-3 Teil unverändert. Vorhandene Gateway lassen sich einfach durch ein ASi-5 / ASi-3 Gateway ersetzen.

    Warum folgt AS-i 5 direkt auf ASi-3?

    Für das nicht vorhanden sein von ASi-4 gibt es im Wesentlichen zwei Gründe. Zum einen soll zum Ausdruck kommen, dass der Entwicklungsschritt von ASi-3 zu ASi-5 sehr groß ist. Zum anderen sollte eine Namensähnlichkeit mit Industrie 4.0 vermieden werden. Industrie 4.0 ist zwar ein wichtiger Innovationstreiber für die neue ASi Generation, aber nicht der einzige.

    Wo ist Einsatz von ASi-5 besonders vorteilhaft?

    ASi-5 eignet sich vor allem für Anwendungen, die hohe Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten erfordern oder bei denen das Datenaufkommen hoch ist. Mit ASi-5 Digitalmodulen lässt sich auch eine größere Anzahl von Ein- und Ausgängen an einem Ort kosteneffizient einsammeln. Neue ASi-5 Digitalmodule sind somit oft eine kostengünstige Alternative zu anderen Feldbus-Lösungen. Darüber hinaus können mit ASi-5 intelligente Sensoren einfacher denn je integriert werden, z. B. IO-Link Sensoren mit bis zu 32 Byte. Hier geht es zu aktuell verfügbaren ASi-5 Digitalmodulen (auf B+W-Seite verlinken).

    Sind ASi-5 Komponenten verschiedener Hersteller kompatibel?

    Ja, die Interoperabilität bleibt auch bei ASi-5 uneingeschränkt bestehen. Alle zertifizierten Produkte mit ASi Logo können in einem gemeinsamen Netzwerk problemlos zusammen eingesetzt werden. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, von welchem Hersteller die Produkte sind.

    Ist ASi-5 wieder eine Gemeinschaftsentwicklung?

    Ja, wie alle ASi Generationen zuvor ist ASi-5 eine Gemeinschaftsentwicklung mehrerer Hersteller von ASi Produkten. In über 200.000 Entwicklerstunden wurde die neue Innovationsstufe von AS-Interface zu einer ausgereiften Technologie. ASi-5 bietet Investitionsschutz und ebnet Unternehmen den Weg in die digitale Zukunft.

     

    Profitieren auch Sie von AS-Interface.

    Einfach

    zu installieren, zu konfigurieren, zu bedienen, zu erweitern

    Effizient

    weil robust, störsicher, diagnosefreundlich, kostensparend

    Innovativ

    da ein Kabel für
    Daten & Energie, freie
    Topologie, hohe Kompatibilität

    Kontakt

    Bihl+Wiedemann GmbH
    Floßwörthstraße 41
    68199 Mannheim

    +49 621 33996-0
    mail@bihl-wiedemann.de
    www.bihl-wiedemann.de